Qubes won’t start - not enough disk space

I have a made an error with my backup; I backed up to file space in a Qube which didn’t complete because it ran out of space. I assumed the file would not save if the backup didn’t complete but unfortunately it did; I rebooted and now the OS won’t start due to not having enough space. How do I fix this?

Boot in a live usb (even the Qubes OS installer, enter TTY with CTRL+ALT+F2) and deal with the qube in question from there.

# If your QubesOS installation is encrypted:
$ cryptsetup open /dev/<device> luks-qubes
# Find the name of the qube of interest and mount it
$ lsblk
# Grep can help you locate the exact qube
$ lsblk | grep <my-qube>
$ mount /dev/mapper/qubes_dom0-vm--<my-qube>--private /mnt
# Do what you need to do then unmount
$ umount /mnt
$ vgchange -a n
$ cryptsetup close luks-qubes

(you may need to run the above as root)

Done.

1 Like

I’m new to Qubes; just some more info that might help, I have a Lenovo T430, during the boot process I press default boot and enter the password for my SSD and that’s as far as it gets before error messages.

If I understand what your saying I should download qubes onto a usb and boot from there and mount the qube in question? What is a TTY?

Thank you

Could you report what errors you see?

You can use the usb that you used to install Qubes. Or any other live distro for that matter, I suggested the Qubes installer because it has no connectivity.

Correct. Once it’s mounted you can remove the file that causing you troubles (thus freeing up space).

In live distros you have the option to use a terminal, while in the qubes installer you do not. That’s when TTY comes in. In easy terms it basically behaves like a full screen terminal.
You can read more about it here: What is tty within Linux? - Unix & Linux Stack Exchange

Please see attached for errors. Also, I bought the T430 with Qubes pre-installed with a nitrokey, does this change your solution?