Installing Application in AppVM

Hello,

i’m completely new to Linux. I am trying to install Discord, i tried it manually downloading and installing, over snap and over the dnf package manager.

after install if i run Discord/discord in the terminal as a command it says no command found. Can someone help me?

Hi, welcome to the community!

AppVM gets its root filesystem from another qube (template qube), Fedora (or Debian), by default. So whenever you want to introduce changes into the root filesystem (including installing something) you have to do it in the latter qube. After that you will have to shutdown the TemplateVM and reboot the AppVM. This is how Qubes’ isolation works.

More details:

But be careful: Installing anything unsafe in TemplateVM will make all AppVMs relied on it unsafe. More details:

Unless you are willing to learn a lot, it might be easier for you to switch to some GNU/Linux distribution first (e.g., Fedora or Debian), before dealing with Qubes OS. The latter introduces more complexity and relies on some knowledge of how Linux works.

2 Likes

is there no other way than cloning TemplateVMs to circumvent installing malicious software in a Template instead of cloning it and editing the other Template, like i tried installing Applications like Discord in an AppVM by CLI?

I very appreciate your help. But i can’t see a reason why not to start right away with virtualization. To me Qubes seems very user-friendly until now. Only expected few issues with Lid-Resume(Dom0 log says it seems vulnerable in some way) and instantly full RAM(i only own 8GB in dual channel…). But maybe im lucky.

Also the backlight of my display does not turn off if Screensafer gets enabled.

1 Like

You can also create a StandaloneVM: Redirecting….

Indeed, Qubes is extremely user-friendly given it’s internal complexity and many amazing features. I’m glad you are willing to try it.

Can’t comment on other issues. I also have this problem with display not turning off.