Qubes OS and Crypto safety

Hello!

I have some form of linux experience, but not much. Just heard about Qubes OS and I find it interesting when it comes to store crypto wallets seed phrases in the vault (since its always offline).

Is this a dumb idea?

Any other thougs around the subject?

Hi, welcome to the community! Yes, Qubes OS is probably the most secure OS, very much suitable for dealing with crypto. Perhaps only hardware wallets are better (and they should work on Qubes, too).

See also: What privacy/security minded cryptocurrency wallets work with Qubes?

Thanks alot :). And thats for the response :).

Just ordered a new SSD to test out Qubes OS. Getting it tomorrow ill guess. Spend the whole day today looking at YT videos, so im exited to get it :).

Havent found alot of info about the “vault” other than its offline? Would you store your seed phrase there, or is it kinda risky if the computer gets stolen?

Also thinking about the Librem 14 as I dont have a laptop today.

Any recommendations?

Hardware wallets looks nice, only thing is that I would see myself lose small stuff like that ;p.

For that reason you should in principle create a backup of your private key before writing it to the hardware wallet. And, optionally, have two identical wallets.

Happy user of Librem 15 here. I think that Librem 14 is a great choice with cool security features. See also: https://forum.qubes-os.org/t/hcl-librem-14-v1/4409. Some people on this forum are skeptical though.

“vault” is an offline-VM. One can indeed store secrets there with very low chance of getting them leaked. See Data Leaks though.

You should always have your hard drive encrypted (which is the default in Qubes OS). If you laptops gets stolen while it’s on then you are in trouble though. Per-VM encryption and Hidden AppVMs are not implemented yet.

2 Likes

By the way, not all videos about Qubes are accurate. See a good list here: Qubes OS Videos Megathread.

Thanks a lot again for good answers :).