Guide: Rsync from multiple qubes to one over qrexec

Hi everyone,

It took me a while to figure this procedure out properly, so I thought it might be useful also for others.

Big thanks to @unman who pointed me in this direction and who wrote very helpful instructions which are the basis of this procedure.

As I’m still new to QubesOS, I’m also curious about feedback/comments from the qubes community on this guide.

Context
Let’s assume the following qube structure:

• data1 and data2: Offline storage qubes with large amount of data that changes often and needs to be backed up regularly (there could be many more like those)
  • backupsync: An offline storage qube which is only in charge of collecting the backups and writing them to an external harddrive

The below mechanism lets you efficiently sync the data changes of the data qubes to the backup qube using rsync and qrexec.

Of course, this mechanism is not as secure as the official QubesOS backup mechanism but probably secure enough in specific cases (depending on the actual threat model, of course).

The guide is using the Fedora templates. On Debian, several commands and package names might be different.

Step 1: Build the data templates

• Make a copy of the Fedora 33 Minimal Template and name it “fedora-33-mini-data”
  • In Dom0: qvm-run -u root fedora-33-mini-data xterm
    • dnf upgrade
    • dnf install rsync-daemon
    • Write the file /etc/rsyncd.conf
port = 873

[syncdata]
path = /home/user/
uid=1000
gid=1000
comment = Read-only data to be synced
read only = yes

Note: uid/gid are needed to ensure that rsyncd has the same permissions as the default user “user” (who has the id 1000)

• Write the file /etc/qubes-rpc/qubes.Rsync
#!/bin/sh
exec socat STDIO TCP:localhost:873
  • systemctl enable rsyncd
  • Shutdown this template VM

Step 2: Build the appvm “data1”

• Create a new VM:
    • Name: data1
    • Type: Qube based on template (AppVM)
    • Template: fedora-33-mini-data
    • Networking: None