An idea on Intel ME removal: use clusters to avoid the 30 minute shutdown

Hello, I have a question.
I am new to QubesOS.

I have heard that it is impossible to remove the ME on modern Intel CPUs as it shuts down in 30 minutes when removed.

What I came up with is to create a cluster of computers with the ME removed and restart them sequentially at intervals of 30 minutes or less.

I think that would avoid the shutdown problem,
I would like to know if it is possible.

Furthermore, is it conceivable to run QOS on that cluster?

Please let me know what you think.

I :heart: :ice_cube: OS

Can you please explain use case of this, but for dummies?You usw first computer, then it resets, then…?

I think the use case is clear: you can run your modern cluster for anything without Intel ME.

I do not see why it couldn’t work in principle, but it would be a huge waste of resources for frequent reboots and data transfer and for running several machines simultaneously…

offtopic

That’s why I asked, Not to say about wasting energy…

Let’s say you reboot every 30 minutes and it takes 1 minute to reboot, I think it would only be a 3% time loss.
(1 min / 30 min * 100)

Currently the only computers that can be used without the ME are those supported by LibreBoot, but they are old and consume so much power.
And only very old CPUs are supported,
Modern CPUs consume much less power.

I think this idea is much more energy-efficient :upside_down_face:

The problem with the 30 minute shutdown for me is that my work is interrupted because the computer shuts down every 30 minutes.
My point is, "Well, can’t we use clusters to prevent work from being interrupted?

You forgot that you need at least two computers for a single task in such case, i.e., you are wasting one whole computer and its resources. Also the regular copying of files takes resources. The latter could be significant, depending on the file sizes.