Using Salt to install packages in template VM (simple example)

Backstory

I’ve been wanting to use Salt Stack for a long time to provision new Qubes templates but never seemed to get around to it. Perhaps because the official Salt docs are not great or perhaps because I got sidetracked into bigger Qubes + Salt possibilities.

Today I decided to just buckle down and focus on a narrow, simple task: Use Salt to install packages into a new template VM (already existing on my machine). I usually do this manually, using a text file I maintain with instructions and lists of packages, typing and pasting things into the terminal.

Being focused helped me cut through all the complexity of Salt and finally get something done.

I’m a beginner

These are literally my first Salt files, I am open to feedback. Hopefully this helps other newbs. That said these are tested and do work for me.

Howto

Let’s assume you have a list of packages to install in one or more template VMs. Let’s assume for purposes of this guide that you call the list fedora-general. This is a conceptual name and is not used to select templates so it can be anything. Just know that anywhere you see “fedora-general” here, replace with your own name if different. (I chose this name because I always have a fedora template ending “-general” - “fedora-33-general”, “fedora-34-general” and so forth. In these I install broadly useful packages.)

1. State file

Make a salt state file in dom0 at /srv/salt/fedora-general.sls that looks like this (replace the packages with your own choices, obviously):

#salt state file

fedora-general-enable-repos: #state-id
  cmd.run: #execution module
    - name: sudo dnf config-manager --set-enabled rpmfusion-free rpmfusion-free-updates rpmfusion-nonfree rpmfusion-nonfree-updates && sudo dnf upgrade -y --refresh #parameter

#you can have multiple states in a file. I think (?) they are applied
#in the order they appear in file.

fedora-general-installs:
  pkg.installed:
    - pkgs: