Salt example: Clone new fedora vm into specialized templates

For compartmentalization and security I normally multiply my Fedora TemplateVM into multiple specialized clones like so:

fedora-37 (untouched)
     |
    fedora-37-general (adds broadly useful, widely-used open source packages)
        |
       fedora-37-print (sketchy printer drivers)
        |
       fedora-37-talk (Zoom, Slack packages)
        |
       fedora-37-media (Commercial Russian video ripping software etc) 

It is painful to manage these by hand since Fedora releases frequently. I have been using a text file with instructions to myself for configuring each clone of fedora.

This year I finally figured out how to use Salt for this purpose. Here is how I do it, in case anyone is looking for example files as a starting place to learn how to manage Qubes with salt. I am still a beginner myself. Feedback / ideas welcome.

If you need an even more basic example, see the one I posted last year, which introduces super rudimentary Salt concepts in relation to Qubes.

All files below live in dom0.

Top-level shell commands

This is the top-level shell script that runs all the salt sls files. Obviously you can extract the individual commands after else if you want to develop your own custom solution iteratively. I call this file with one argument, the number of the fedora version I am customizing, e.g. fedora-multiply.sh 37.

/home/user/bin/fedora-multiply.sh:

#!/usr/bin/bash

set -e #quit on error

if [ -z "$1" ]
then
    echo "USAGE: fedora-multiply FVERSION"
else
    sudo qubesctl state.apply fedora-clone-to-general pillar="{\"fedorav\": \"$1\"}"
    sudo qubesctl --skip-dom0 --targets=fedora-$1-general state.apply fedora-general-configure
    sudo qubesctl state.apply fedora-general-multiply pillar="{\"fedorav\": \"$1\"}"
    sudo qubesctl --skip-dom0 --targets=fedora-$1-media state.apply fedora-media-configure
fi