Unable to Connect to Internet: No Wireless or Ethernet Card in my Qubes OS

Hello, this is my first time using Qubes OS.

I have been trying to connect to my wifi wirelessly and with an ethernet cable. I have researched and I believe the problem is that I have no wireless/wifi card.

On the panel, when I hover over the network symbol, it pops up a bar that reads “No network conection”, and when I click it my only option is "VPN Connections > " and I see no wifi options. When I connect my ethernet, nothing changes.
I went into sys-net “Qube settings” and added the application “Settings” so it could be visible, and I opened it, saw the option for “network” but no wifi or plugged in ethernet show up there.

I have read that I should downgrade to a previous version of kernel so that the wireless card might appear and work, I tried it. However, it didn’t install because I have no internet in the first place.

I know that I don’t have a wireless card because I ran “lsusb” in dom0 and there wasn’t a wireless card there, and from Qube manager, I know that my sys-net doesn’t have a ethernet card as well. (when installing, I selected the option to allow sys-net control network as well as usb, so I think that wasn’t the issue)

I am trying to install Qubes r4.0.4 to see if this version will allow internet connection while I figure out what do to on r4.1.0

Could I possibly download Qubes kernel 4.19 on a drive and transfer it to my Qubes OS r4.1.0 packages to see if this will allow me an internet connection? Or should I try something else?

In “sys-net” settings, do you have any PCI attached to it?

Hello DVM, thanks for your reply

The advanced tab on my “sys-net” settings, under “Virtualization” it says does say “… no PCI passthrough” and in bold below the mode it reads “PVH mode is hidden since it doesn’t support PCI passthrough”

Can you go in the “Devices” tab and tell me if you have something in the “Selected” list?

1 Like