Transfer folders files dom0 to my appVm And folder wallpapper myappvm to dom0

hello, could you help me please, I am new to qubes os, I had made several screenshots, I find them in the (pictures) folder of dom0, I want to transfer or copy all the jpg screenshots that are in dom0 to my appvm which is called Chocolat-Vm, could you give me the command to do on the terminal, is on which terminal to enter the command, that of dom0 or that of chocolat-Vm thank you my version qubes os 4.1

I did a lot of research and I found half of the answer for transferring from dom0 to appVM, however I still have the problem of transferring my wallpapper folder which is in my vmchocolat Pictures/ walpapper from my appvmchocolat to dom0, I found these, but I donā€™t know what to change in the order?

qvm-run --pass-io <src-vm> 'cat /path/to/file_in_src_domain' > /path/to/file_name_in_dom0

The instructions you mention are for files only. So you can e.g. tar folders and use them on the tar archive.

Btw itā€™s made so hard that you donā€™t accidentally compromise your dom0 e.g. via some wallpaper with some additional code inside. ^^

P.S.: Using qvm-convert-img on the wallpapers first inside a disposable VM should reduce the risk.

Does qvm-copy-to-vm work?

qvm-copy-to-vm Chocolat-Vm image.jpg

qvm-copy-to-vm works for dom0 ā†’ VM. The instructions you mentioned eaerlier are for VM ā†’ dom0.

If you intend to move just a few wallpapers from a qube to Dom0, the most secure way is to display them in the qube in fullscreen and take a screenshot with the screenshot tool from Dom0. Pretty painless and it ensures that all you get into Dom0 is a rendering of the wallpaper and nothing else (no code comes with it). If itā€™s hundreds of them (why would you need hundreds of wallpapers anyway?), then the qvm-convert-img command should help.

2 Likes