Installing Veracrypt For qubes-whonix

After searching and reading several issues regarding installing veracrypt in qubes-whonix I have not come across recent guides to this installation. Since downloading in dom0 is not an option, is the only other way to install in fedora/debian qubes? I am new to installing additional software and my recent install of other applications were in the whonix-16 template.

My question would be, when searching for code to start this installation process, do I look for debian, fedora, or linux code to be compatible with qubes-whonix? On github i believe I only found the debian and fedora code and would like to know the safest way to install veracrypt. thanks!

whonix is debian based. you can download the package in your web qube and then transfer it to the template you want to install it in (clone of whonix-ws likely).

Do yourself a favor and read a bit first:

Hello,

here is a way that worked for me.
Not sure if this way is the moste secure way…I am still a beginner using QubesOs.

Please note that there is an issue for using exfat whith whonix-16 in Qubes 4.0.x

“Debian-11 template for 4.0 does not support mounting exfat volumes”
“Error mounting exfat in debian 11”

Look for the headlines if you need more info.

I do not mess around with a clean templates/cubes , so:

• I will clone whonix-16-ws
  • I will create a new whonix-anon-TEST cube where I can run Veracrypt
  1. Download Veracrypt version from here:

https://www.veracrypt.fr/en/Downloads.html

Use this version: veracrypt-1.24-Update7-Debian-11-amd64.deb and save it on a USB stick

1. Clone the whonix-16-ws template and name it e.g. whonix-16-ws-TEST, just in case something goes wrong, you can always make a clone again from the original clean whonix-ws installation.

2. Start the whonix-16-ws-Test template, right click, Qubes settings, Application TAB, on the left scroll down until you see “Thunar Filemanager” and add to the right, press apply.