How to setup an appVM on an external drive?

Hi all, Qubes noob here. I would like to set up an appVM to live exclusively on an external HDD (connected via USB).

I searched around and found this discussion which links to this documentation. I tried following the steps in it, but I got stumped on the very first step.

In the documentation, right at the start, it says “These steps assume you have already created a separate volume group and thin pool (not thin volume) for your HDD.”. So, I followed the links on volume group and thin pool, but could not get those to work.

On the volume group documentation, it indicates the command to create a volume group vg1 that contains physical volumes /dev/sdd1 and /dev/sde1: vgcreate vg1 /dev/sdd1 /dev/sde1. I checked the location of my external hdd /dev/sda, but when I attempt to create the volume sudo vgcreate vg1 /dev/sda on dom0 terminal I get the following error: Device /dev/sda not found.

My first thought was to run the command on sys-usb (which I have as a disposableVM) as that is the VM to which the external drive is assigned to, but I got another error sudo: vgcreate: command not found. So I went to the appVM template (fedora34) to install it and got another error: unable to find a match: vgcreate. Which is weird as the documentation on volume groups is from Red Hat.

Has anyone been able to create an appVM on an external drive? If so, any tips on what I’ve done wrong, or better yet a nice noob friendly tutorial on how to do it?

1 Like

When you said the very first step, which one ?

Right, I should have been clearer on my post.

The goal is to create an appVM on an external drive. The first step on the documentation is to have created a volume group and thin pool. To create a volume group the documentation provides a command vgcreate vg1 /dev/sda. I have been unable to run this command successfully on both dom0 and sys-usb terminals.