How is it that I cannot find/start my Qubes OS after installing it successfully on an external drive?

So I installed Qubes OS successfully on an external drive a few days ago. Then I unplugged the external drive to continue using the normal windows. Now I’m trying to work on Qubes again but I cannot start it? Basically I’ve a hard time finding the bootable device (i.e., the external drive containing my Qubes OS). I did a quick google search already, and followed the instructions here, but still no use as I just cannot open Qubes

https://groups.google.com/g/qubes-users/c/NjkLRBikZWQ

Does someone know how to deal with this?

Thanks!

ps. On this link I’ve also uploaded some images. I can’t do it here so I’ll just leave the link
https://www.reddit.com/r/Qubes/comments/13ib9sg/how_is_it_that_i_cannot_findstart_my_qubes_os/

Read this:

1 Like

Thanks for the quick response! one more question sorry, I’m pretty new to Qubes and how do I open up the command line in which I can type the instructions that you wrote here?

Copy files from /boot/efi/EFI/qubes/ to /boot/efi/EFI/BOOT/:
sudo cp -r /boot/efi/EFI/qubes/* /boot/efi/EFI/BOOT/.
Change filenames grubx64.efi → BOOTX64.efi and grub.cfg → BOOTX64.cfg:
sudo mv /boot/efi/EFI/BOOT/grubx64.efi /boot/efi/EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.efi
sudo mv /boot/efi/EFI/BOOT/grub.cfg /boot/efi/EFI/BOOT/BOOTX64.cfg

I know how to do that if I’ve my Qubes OS open up, but I don’t know how I can do this in Windows OS or in BIOS. Sorry for the dumb question!

I think you can do this in Windows since EFI System partiton from Qubes OS drive can be accessed from Windows. Just copy/rename files in EFI partition using Windows Explorer.
Else you can boot from some Linux LiveUSB or from QubesOS installer USB in Rescue mode and mount the EFI partition there to copy the files.

1 Like

Thanks for the info, will try, hope it’s gonna work. Wish you all the best bro!

Thanks for the info, will try, hope it’s gonna work. Wish you all the best bro!