Feather Wallet Qube with remote node

I am searching for the best alternative to running my own node (I had a lot of complications). The best alternative I can think of, is to use a Whonix Qube with the Feather Wallet (changes remote nodes automatically). I would leave all the default settings. What do you think? Do you have better alternatives for privacy and safety?

Thank you in advance!

Alternative to what?

1 Like

An alternative wallet setup.
Other setups I came across:
Monero-Wallet-GUI with defalut settings (random remote node)
Monero-Wallet-GUI with a specific .onion remote node
Monero-Wallet-GUI with a full node (does not work for me)
Monero-Wallet-GUI with a pruned node (does not work for me)
and all that combined with different operating systems
I was wondering, if someone ran into similar issues and could share his setup in qubes.

Thanks. I’m not good at this, but I know your last response will help others with enough knowledge to help you.

1 Like

The best alternative for privacy and safety is most definitely using an isolation for the official CLI wallet and private node using Whonix.

I know it’s not exactly (well, no where near lol) what you’re looking for since it doesn’t involve Feather and you describe complications using your own node, but it’s very possible to set it up, and by far the safest.

The working setup has changed since the upgrade to 4.1, but I have no issues with mine. I’m happy to look up my notes on it, if it’s helpful to you.

1 Like

If it is not too much trouble, then I would appreciate it a lot. :slight_smile:
I followed this guide:

I don’t really understand the steps, so I just copied and pasted.
As far as I know, this uses a full node. I started the GUI as a last step and got a lot of errors while syncing. (maybe because I only freed up 10GB and tried to extend it to 100GB after I ran out of memory :laughing:)
Do you run a full node or a pruned node?