Does a hack persist after AppVM reboot?!

I’ve been using Qubes OS for over a year now, with the assumption that if I reboot an AppVM (or domain) that had been hacked or infected with a virus, the hack / virus would disappear. My device had been compromised in the past and this is why I switched to Qubes.
Now, I keep reading on various forums that service VMs (sys-net, sys-firewall, sys-usb) should be made disposable for added security. Why? Can a hack / virus persist in the file system upon reboot?
To make things more complicated, I installed youtube-dl in anon-whonix AppVM and it still works upon reboot. AppImages run directly in the AppVM (and this is not recommended). I am not an IT expert. Doesn’t this indicate that some forms of virus / script / hack can persist?
And thank you for this forum. It’s been incredibly helpful.

1 Like

Yes. In short, for non-disposable VMs, malware can persist in the home folder, which is not destroyed.

1 Like

The answer is yes under the circumstances @427F11FD0FAA4B080123 described.

By taking advantage of Qubes’ features you minimize that risk significantly. Some measures include:

• web browsing only on disposable VMs
  • open PDF in disposable VM
  • edit word and presentations in disposable VM.

Essentially anything that avoids running programs directly on your (non-disposable) AppVM is a good mitigation. You can think of AppVMs as the hub which you only use to see the file explorer and open files in dispVMs.

Of course, here we are never talking about malware that can punch though the XEN (the virtual machine manager), which is harder to pull off.

Why does this happen?

Note this is a not very technical explanation and clearly sacrifices technical accuracy for clarity.

For AppVMs your /home/ is persistent but programs are inherited from it’s templateVM.