Do you really need to use Qubes?

I’m a developer and the reason I switched initially to Qubes is not the bonus security (the chance I get hit by a virus or something else is already minimal enough), but dealing with the dependencies. However, recently I started playing with distrobox (and similar tools) which made me think again if I really need Qubes.
The additional security and networking capabilities are great, but I’m leaving at the same time more useful features to me like relatively good battery life (almost double relative to Qubes), possibility to use the GPU and similar things.

Distrobox and other similar tools can totally help me with dealing with the dependencies issues I have (different node versions, elixir versions …) and without the issues (bad battery life, no GPU).

So here is my question for you:
Do you really need to use Qubes (is it really useful to you, comparing it to other solutions) or are you doing it because you wish (but don’t really need) the extra security?

I use qubes because

1. having extra security is useful to me. I bury my passwords and Monero wallets into their own minimal qubes. This sense of solid isolation in VMs make me sleep in peace at night.

2. creating debian virtual machines on the fly, experimenting with them, and then removing them at my wish is pleasant with my linux learning experiments. If there is a program I want to try in debian, I first install it in a new qube I create, play with it, and then if I want to keep it, I install it to my real debian template. This experimentation without screwing up my “real” debian setup is useful to me.