Windows 10 Experience on Qubes

Greetings, all.

(My original install/config issues thread is here: Windows 10 Questions - #46 by disp6252 )

I was here back in May working on getting my Windows 10 Qube working on my system and I was largely successful. I have been using it for a good 3 months solid now, and the only real issues I have been having are performance-related. Stability is very good to excellent.

First, let me describe what I had to end up doing.

My system specs:
Xeon E5-2697A 2.6GHz 26C/32T
X99 motherboard (MSI X99A GG)
128MB PC28800 DDR4 Memory
Samsung Pro 4TB SSD
AMD Radeon RX550 4GB
AMD Radeon RX6950XT 16GB
Built-in dual E2400 1GB NICs and 1535 WiFi/bluetooth adapter
Additional hard drives, both magnetic and SSD.
Realtek ALC1150+ESS ES9018K2M sound
X99 USB 2.0/3.0 & Asmedia ASM1042AE/1142 USB 3.1 Controllers

OS setup:
QubesOS 4.1
Windows 10 Pro 22H2

Qubes is configured to use all threads on the Xeon, which I know is not the most secure possible, due to the known core/thread bleedover issues with this and many other CPUs, but I am aiming to use the hardware I have to the fullest, and the potential attack surface is very small in my usage.

The Windows Qube has a custom config that is managed manually which I have to tweak due to the passthrough and performance settings. Here are the resources it is assigned:

• 16 Threads (CPUs), with preference of CPUs 16-31. All other Qubes share CPUs 0-15.
  • 64GB of the 128GB of system memory.
  • The Radeon RX 6950XT is assigned directly via PCI passthrough to Windows. The RX550 is left for Qubes to run. There was some boot magic involved to get it to work because the Primary is the 6950XT, and I cannot find a way to change that.
  • The audio codecs are also passed through directly to Windows.