What am I constantly getting wrong with DNS...?

I’m no networking expert so there might be something I do very wrong on a newbie level…

Whatever I do when it comes to multiple VPNs, at least two internet access points I always end up with DNS not working!

Right now I’m using Mullvad and while a ping to any domain works fine in a terminal on sys-net any Qube that connects to it IS connected, but without DNS…

Have I gotten something wrong about sys-net itself, or should I maybe rebuild that Qube in case my testing of VPNs has messed something up?

Should I look at running my own DNS server somewhere in my network, or would there be other online DNS servers that are better capable of being reachable by any Qubes regardless of what happens between them and sys-net?

Sorry for this being such a general question but I do expect that I might have gotten bad and incomplete habits around DNS services due to being online since 96 but with no formal training on basics :slight_smile:

You have not given any information about how you set up Mullvad, or what
type of VPN you are running,
It sounds as if you set up Mullvad on sys-net, yes?
How did you do this?
What instructions did you follow?

Normally I would of course describe all details, but also I run into this all the time, across types of Qubes as well as VPNs…

So am I doing something wrong on a fundamental level?

Right now I’m running Mullvad on sys-net yes, and somehow DNS doesn’t propagate to those…

Would there be any obvious tests to do other than ping to an IP versus a domain?

Any tools in Qubes that I’ve missed out on?

Just want to add that the past months I’ve been trying out different combinations of VPNs, which of course makes for a lot of possible blocks and whatever…

But also I’ve had this happening in general on & off for ages, normally I just set a public DNS manually, which was OK for just getting things working, but that kinda won’t fly if I want to keep things secure?