Using a Yubikey

Hi All,
I am very new to Qubes, and getting on quite well so far. But I am now stuck on try setup my Yubikey’s. I need to use my Yubikey, for use with the Yubico 2FA app, some website logins, for use with Keepass, and also eventually for qubes login authentication. I have been searching for a week, and still can’t find an explanation of how to do this. I don’t want to just try every blog post that I see, as I don’t want to mess up my qubes installation. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thanks
Avienda

1 Like
3 Likes

Thanks for the reply, but it failed at the first hurdle

[UserOne@dom0 ~]$ sudo qubes-dom0-update qubes-ctap-dom0
Using sys-firewall as UpdateVM to download updates for Dom0; this may take some time…
Qubes OS Repository for Dom0 2.9 MB/s | 3.0 kB 00:00
No match for argument: qubes-ctap-dom0
Error: Unable to find a match: qubes-ctap-dom0

Any thoughts??

Which version of Qubes OS are you using @AviendaGarcia ?

This is my version
[UserOne@dom0 ~]$ cat /etc/qubes-release
Qubes release 4.1 (R4.1)

I have just seen that there is release 4.2 now, the install that I have came with my new Purism Laptop. I have not installed much, do you think that its worth updating to 4.2??

I guess for Qubes OS 4.1 the package has the old name qubes-u2f-dom0 and maybe it’s better to follow old guide:
qubes-doc/user/security-in-qubes/u2f-proxy.md at b6450f7aa0b74dc9ef90248d1d9f41abc6ce4a78 · QubesOS/qubes-doc · GitHub
But I’m not sure.

It’s better to upgrade to the current stable version Qubes OS 4.2, the Qubes OS 4.1 will be EOL on 2024-06-18:
Supported releases | Qubes OS
How to upgrade to Qubes 4.2 | Qubes OS

Thanks, I will try updating qubes first then have another go at getting the Yubikey working

This is very much why I asked, I thought I remembered some packages and docs changing names recently.

And FWIW that would be what I’d do as well: updating Qubes OS, then following the most recent guides. :+1:

Hi,