Updating USB TrackBall settings

Helpful advice for updating a Trackball’s buttons in qubes 4.1

First I am relatively new to qubes os. I recognize that this OS is for experienced users and isn’t for beginners like me. But why start learning to play a guitar with 4 strings when you know that you want to play one with 6? Once you learn the basic configurations it is nice to have disposable VMs to practice other configurations and to test software without crapping out a traditional install. Enough of that.

I wanted to change the scroll functionality of my ELECOM HUGE Trackball. I read through the guide at Elecom Huge Linux Review and Configuration

And did the following from a terminal in dom0
$ cd /usr/share/X11/xorg.conf.d
$ sudo cp 40-libinput.conf 40-libinput.bak
$ sudo vim 40-libinput.conf

Once that file was open I edited the configuration file to contain the attributes suggested by Vashinator.

After writing and quitting the vim I restarted my system. It seems to be working as expected.

What I wanted to know is there another (preferred) way to edit libinput configuration files other than doing it at a dom0 terminal?

Thanks for the advice.

P.S. If you are very new to trying something like this I recommend using a tutorial for vim, by opening any app terminal and typing $ vimtutor

1 Like

What you did is what many folks familiar with the command line would prefer. (Certainly what I would prefer.)

You can try different editors to find your favorite, but if you’re happy with vim, it has the advantage of being readily available in dom0 when you need it; and the choice of editor is a matter of personal preference, not good or bad practice, so that’s for you to say. :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like

Unfortunately i currenly also like that elecom huge better than the Classic Trackball - Ploopy (which has QMK support!). It seems to me, to be because of the soft gel pad.