UEFI BIOS version check from CLI Terminal

I saw Coreboot had a recent update

I ordered 2 laptops right after this update, so am unsure if the vendor shipped it with the latest update

I am new to XEN and Qubes, so I now wonder what command do I enter as SuDo to retrieve the info list about the current version of my UEFI version

I need 2 different commands
1 for AMI (American Megatrends) — just to see what version it is on
and
2 for Coreboot — see if I got lucky with new version installed prior to shipment
(as I have 2 Qubes bare metal machines that I am setting up, 1 has Coreboot the other has AMI)

Provided instruction inputs for Dom0 or ROOT terminal is appreciated, thank you in advance
(or should I just reboot and find it in the UEFI settings somewhere?)

1 Like

UPDATE:

I just rebooted on the AMI machine and see the version when logging into the UEFI

I assume it will be the same with Coreboot when I move over to working on that machine

Still would be nice to check it from Terminal somehow instead of rebooting into the UEFI, but I don’t know the commands to input to accomplish such so …

UPDATE update:
Wow the AMI version is extremely out of date!

I fear the same will be for the Coreboot then.

I see there are instructions for Coreboot here in the Qubes forum,
BUT
is there any instructions for AMI (American MegaTrends) on downloading to update the AMI version?

• NOTE:
    I tried to delete this thread so to make a new thread on “how to update AMI” BIOS but it isn’t letting me delete it so I guess I will just pivot from the CLI question into the “how to update AMI UEFI BIOS” question then here
    I am also going to email the vendor. I can’t believe they put an ancient version of AMI on this! The version is so very far behind, older than the company selling these laptops lol

emailed the vendor, I can’t believe the vendor did this to me wow what a let down

1 Like