"Trouble connecting to Tor" and "Disabling Whonix/Tor for Qube:personal"

Hi,

I am using Qubes-R4.1.2-x86_64. I am very new to this OS so please bear with me.
In the Installer I chose to install debian-11 and whonix, I did not install fedora.
I just freshly installed today.

1. My first problem is that Tor will not connect.
    It hangs forever at 5% “Bootstrap phase: Connecting to a relay”.

If I open a shell in the sys-net VM then I can ping the public IP 8.8.8.8 so my internet should be fine.

qubes-sys-net-ping

I shouldn’t need any bridges, because other computers on the same network don’t need bridges to connect to TOR.

Checking the log I get TOR REASON=TIMEOUT and Consensus time sanity check failed even though the system time seems to be set correctly.

How can I debug why TOR in QubesOS is not connecting?

1. Can I tell QubesOS that certain Qubes such as personal should not use Whonix or Tor, but make direct non-anonymous connections to the internet?

How do I configure/disable this? Thanks in advance!

@kwinz On any new qube that you create you can choose “sys-firewall” for non TOR connections. Go to the Qube Manager, select a qube, click on settings and change the “Net qube” dropdown selection to “sys-firewall”

For TOR connection change it to “sys-whonix”

I think it’s better to use anon-whonix cube with sys-whonix and leave the other qubes to the default “sys firewall”

Hope this helps…

Appreciate the reply! That’s what’s confusing to me: Qube:personal already has NetVM: sys-firewall configured. See screenshot in the second post in this thread.
The only Qubes that have sys-whonix as NetVMs are anon-whonix and whonix-ws-16-dvm.
Despite this I still get the Anon Connection Wizard popup that prompts me to start TOR from sys-whonix as soon as I start Qube:personal. What could be the problem here?