To 'passwordless-root' or not to 'passwordless-root'?

Would it be more secure to not install ‘passwordless-root’ so in case a Qube get’s hacked, the attacker won’t be able to get root access?

Of course the drawback is that whenever we want to install something, we have to type in dom0

qvm-run -u root [template] xterm

In other words: what’s more secure… have passwordless-root installed or not?
Thanks.

1 Like

I am new to Qubes, but what I have learned is, and it sounds ultimately logical, that once the hacker is in dom0, anything else doesn’t matter. The one who can get to dom0 probably can do much more than gaining root access in it.

Thank you @enmus
I’m not talking about dom0.
I’m talking about installing a minimal template to use for sys-net, sys-firewall, etc.
Let’s say I have:
internet ← sys-net ← sys-firewall0 ← sys-VPN ← sys-whonix ← sys-firewall2

Let’s say an attacker somehow is able to get through the TOR network and gains user-access at sys-firewall2. And the attacker wants to install something to monitor my activity. would not installing passwordless-root prevent that?

Of course, after rebooting sys-firewall2 is back in the original state (when made disposable).

not much, but since you are talking in appvm, it still better than having passwordless-root

I would like to know the same thing. All of the arguments I hear about passwordless root are about dom0 being compromised, but it’s unclear how domU doesn’t benefit from protecting malicious files from being installed in the root directory during an active session. Why not restrict that ability with domU password for root/sudo actions? It’s not just the current session that can potentially be compromised if the attacker makes the exploit persist with bind-dirs.

@apoawaisoChae, @enmus & @necker sometimes it really is a good idea to search a bit before posting a question. This particular topic has been discussed to death several times over…