Theoretical Question on Templates

Hello everyone,

My question is more theoretical, topical, and discussion-based than technical. However, if someone happens to have the technical solution to what I’m proposing, I would LOVE to hear/see it.

So I’m fairly new to Qubes. I’ve been experimenting with it. I love it. So far, I’ve experimented with templates and I’ve even loaded Windows 10 in one of the Qubes which leads me to my question:

So I had to load the template with sys-firewall inside of my Windows 10 Qube, and it worked flawlessly. However, there other elements within the Windows 10 Qube that I’m still working out and configuring; such as usb, sound, video, etc. I know that there are parts of this forum that discuss the set up and show the terminal codes, etc. That’s great, but the whole process got me thinking:

Since there is only ONE template where you can load sys-firewall instead of multiple templates to integrate other Qubes (such as sys-usb, maybe even ones named sys-sound or sys-video, etc.), Is there a way you can make an all-in-one Qube template that has firewall, usb, sound, video, all integrated that would aid the process of loading these elements into a Qube with a different OS?

Welcome to Qubes OS! It is hard to follow and understand your setup.

Can you clarify with more details, please?

sys-firewall is just a name. You can create multiple VMs that function as a firewall. You can have debian-based firewalls, fedora-based firewalls, etc.

Official guidance for VPN setup actually recommends layered firewall VMs to better apply firewall rules.

Hello there, I hope you’re doing well. :wave:

I’ll try my best to answer your question :thought_balloon: