The application is not installed: "Unable to locate package element desktop"

Hello, I am a newbie in kubes, when installing the element desktop application through the terminal, an error appears …done… done… done … E: Unable to locate package element desktop what could go wrong? I install it on the debian template

Hi @Rastaforai,

1. How exactly did you install the application, what command did you run?

2. Can you copy the error exactly please?

Both things would help finding out what went wrong.

1 Like

not sure with the debian, but if you using fedora you can just run this in template vm :

Fedora 38

dnf config-manager --add-repo https://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:jejb1:Element/Fedora_38/home:jejb1:Element.repo
dnf install element-desktop

Fedora 37

dnf config-manager --add-repo https://download.opensuse.org/repositories/home:jejb1:Element/Fedora_37/home:jejb1:Element.repo
dnf install element-desktop
1 Like

It seemed to work out, as I understood, so that the application does not disappear, after a reboot, you need to install it on a template, I installed it on the debean 11 template, but the Internet was not connected to it, and it gave an error, I don’t know English well, so I couldn’t make out the error.

Can you suggest a little off topic, my working environment is anon whonix, but my application disappears there after restarting the computer, so it needs to be installed on a template, if I replace sys-firewall with sys-whonix(current), will this template become safer? Or is it not recommended to work in templates?

Hi,

I see that the application is on the SNAP store.

Installing the app from the SNAP repository is trivial. I’ve included the application installation process below.

1. Make sure you have opened the Fedora-37 template terminal.

2. install two packages: snapd and qubes-snapd-helper:

$sudo dnf install snapd

$sudo dnf install qubes-spapd-helper