Recommended way how to sync sensitive files across different devices

Dear Qubes community,

I would like to ask you about your recommended way to synchronise sensitive files across different devices. For example, I work with the Cherrytree database file on a Windows PC and I would like to work with the same file on the Qubes machine. I could sync this file to the dropbox and create an appvm on Qubes that only contains the dropbox and the Cherrytree app.

It works, but I think there should be a more elegant way to sync files between devices. Can you recommend different ways?

Thank you
C.

rsync?

2 Likes

@CaesarVialpando

I would not suggest Dropbox. :confused:

Have you checked out Syncthing?

https://syncthing.net/

3 Likes

Dear @necker thank you very much for your recommendation.

I studied Syncthing and unfortunately it won’t be suitable because I don’t have the possibility to set the port forward on the router and/or UPnP. I tried OnionShare, but it won’t allow regular synchronisation, only one-time.

Thank you

Why don’t you recommend dropbox, what if it was combined with boxcryptor for example? (https://www.boxcryptor.com/en/)

Well, that certainly seems better than Dropbox alone. I don’t like Dropbox because they don’t respect user privacy. I don’t want to give them my money. Boxcryptor also has a fee. I recall that Veracrypt works well with Dropbox and it’s free.

As far as a quasi-mainstream paid service, I might opt for something like Tresorit. Ideally, I would set up something on a VPS, but I don’t trust my technically ability to do it securely.

For using syncthing, I have never needed to forward any ports on my router.

It is working for me without any port forwarding.

You should definitely try syncthing and see if it works for you without port forwarding, too.

Isn’t sync thing just using TLS encryption?