Randomize Mac adress globally - some questions

Hello, I want to randomize the Mac address of my new Librem 14.
As a total beginner I have some questions how I can do that and are grateful for any support. First, in the Github document was written about to create a new NetVM, so I have to create a new VM and set up all changes for randomizing my Mac adress and then create a new NetVM ( I using the default sys-net VM ) . My second questions is about the file directory, in the document was written:
"Write the settings to a new file in the
/etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/ directory, such as 00/macrandomize.conf . "
but I doesn´t know how I can find this directory.

“Write the settings to a new file in the
/etc/NetworkManager/conf.d/ directory, such as 00/macrandomize.conf . "
but I doesn´t know how I can find this directory.”

You must create this directory by yourself.

1 Like

Thanks, I know it is self advising but where can I find the right directory exactly? I never create a file with a command and create it by myself :sweat_smile: .

@Amadeus You sound like me. FWIW, Qubes was my first Linux OS. Before that I was all Mac OS with no terminal experience. I assumed it would be a great way to try different Linux systems to see which one I liked. :smile: Like learning to swim in a tank full of sharks.

Anyway… try this. I used it to randomize my MAC address and hostname (both in sys-net). That way, my hostname doesn’t advertise that I’m using Qubes.

2 Likes

Oh I see. I just looked at that guide and realized that it’s not explicit step by step.

To create a new file, use the touch command. To make changes in the root directory (folders outside of your home folder), use sudo to claim administrative rights.

To move to specific directory, use cd (“change directory”). To see the path of your current location at any time, use pwd (“present working directory”). And to list the contents of a directory use ls (“list”).