[qubes-users] Successful Qubes install, now stuck with Freeplane install. Can you help me get started? Please?

Hi all,

DEAR MODS: If I should have sent this to the wrong place, or if I should go about this in a different way, please do tell me. Doing my best in good faith, willing to learn.

Qubes beginner here who feels like he’s fairly good at flying a Cessna (Mint) and is now trying to fly a fighter jet… so many additional buttons and switches in this cockpit! Some help would be awesome…

First things first: Thank you so much for creating Qubes! I hugely appreciate the immense amounts of time and energy that have been put into this, and continue to be put into it, and I am very grateful that there are capable people in the world who provide me with such a powerful tool.

This post got longer than planned, so

H E R E I S T H E B R I E F V E R S I O N O F T H I S P O S T :

QUESTION: Would you be willing to walk me through the process of installing Freeplane on Qubes / Whonix-Qubes?

DONE SO FAR: Managed successful disable of Intel ME via 1vyrain and then Qubes / Whonix-Qubes install on an X230 i7 with 16 GB RAM and SSD.

NEXT GOAL: I want to install Freeplane and test whether it runs well enough on this machine on Qubes with rather large mindmap files. Freeplane is a deal breaker must-have software for me, so installing and testing it is the first next step I want to focus on. If it helps, I don’t need Freeplane to have net access, actually might even prefer it not to have net access, so maybe a standalone / vault type VM just for Freeplane might make sense. Tried to install it several times, really unsure why I didn’t succeed so far, despite lots of reading and my best efforts. If Freeplane works well, I want to use Qubes as my daily driver as soon as possible. I’m hoping that I’m not delusional to hope that I can learn to do that.