Qubes stopped booting

Hello,

I’ve been using Qubes for about two years on my Lenovo laptop. All was going fine, until today; after I switched off my computer and restarted it, Qubes will no longer boot. The first time I tried to start today, I was asked for my hard drive encryption password, then got a black screen, then was redirected to the bios startup screen. I tried several times since, and now I don’t even get the Qubes hard drive encryption password screen – it goes into a black screen straight away, and then back to my BIOS startup screen.

I did a smart short test with the Lenovo diagnosis tools and the test fails (“Problems have been identified on one or more of your storage devices”). The tool suggests to use the recover bad sectors tool, but that tool doesn’t identify any problems.

Is my hard drive fried? Is there a way to recover my data or do I need to buy a new hard drive and recover from my latest backup?

Thank you very much!

While I never had such an issue with Qubes, I would guess it’s a GRUB issue. Therefore, I would use a live USB of your choosing, mount the LUKS encrypted drive, chroot to the environment and repair GRUB.

UPDATE: You should ask yourself → How should the diag tool work on a still encrypted LUKS container? :wink:

Thank you! Do you happen to have suggestions as to how I can go about these very steps you suggest? Sorry I’m not exactly a power user!

The first thing I would do is secure my data. Dont do anything more on
that disk until you have. The fact you talk about “my latest backup” is
a good sign.
If you have good backups and nothing to lose, you could try to recover
that disk. But what would be the point? You have a disk that looks as if
it is starting to fail, and you would constantly be waiting for the next
failure. I would buy a replacement and use the backups.

If this isn’t an option for any reason, then you could try to recover
/boot, grub, or whatever part of the Qubes boot mechanism is fried. You