Qubes OS is not showing in the BIOS menu after unplugging and plugging the SSD again

I have been using Qubes successfully for over 2 months, but when I unplugged and plugged the SSD again it no longer appears as an option on the BIOS.

I have followed this guide:

But when I enter that command on the installation media shell:
efibootmgr -v
it says EFI Variables are not supported on this system. Same error appears when I try to enter the command:
grubx64.efi

Also, when I try to go with the option Rescue Qubes OS, it asks for sda3 password, I then enter the password and it says “You dont have any Linux partitions. Rebooting.”

What should I do to recover my Qubes OS now?

Maybe you booted your installation media in Legacy BIOS mode and not in UEFI mode?

And how do I boot it into UEFI mode? I just launched the installation media normally

You can disable Legacy BIOS or CSM support in BIOS and then only UEFI will be used.
Or just try different boot entry from the one that you tried before.

I just did that, its not in UEFI mode but still I dont know how to proceed. When I type fdisk -l it shows this:

How to proceed?

You need to run this command instead:

efibootmgr -v -c -u -L QubesOS -l /EFI/qubes/grubx64.efi -d /dev/sda -p 1
4 Likes

Thank you very much, it worked!
Do you know why the Qubes option disappears from the boot menu if the ssd is unplugged? And if there is a way to prevent it in the future?

Check this issue:

There’s info about this problem and a way to prevent this in the future.

What should i put for ‘-p’ and ‘-d’ here

Edit: some context here - im ramdonly unable to boot after using qubes for about a month.

Ive tried rescue mode but option 1 says “you dont have any linux partitions”

Some other information: I multi-boot qubes, and 2 windows OS. Using lenovo legion 5

efibootmgr -v -c -u -L QubesOS -l /EFI/qubes/grubx64.efi -d /dev/nvme0n1 -p 1

Thank you for the timely response!

I tried this but im still having issues booting qubes :frowning: