Qubes + Dropbox for file backups

Hi, this isn’t a specific qubes question (I think).

I have a qube that I use for my PhD work. There is nothing terribly exciting in it, my PhD is in law and cybersecurity.

I have just over a gig of files, of which most are PDFs of other articles (my zotero library) and files and presentations that I have written, along with some other random bits and pieces.

Right now, I have a script which rsyncs this PhD directory in the plain to another debian box which I own and which sits at my house. This script only does syncs when I am working on my home network, and the box then mirrors the files to another drive, so I’m covered in case of drive failure on both my qubes machine and on the debian box.

I then installed dropbox on the qube, and I have my PhD folder set as a dropbox folder, so as soon as I make a change there, it syncs with dropbox. I want cloud backup as well in case of theft of both debian box and qubes box, or a fire or something equally as catastrophic.

I would ideally like to not have the files in the clear on either my own server or on dropbox. However, the most important thing is that the backup works!

I have been messing about with doing something like:
bash script a command which tars my PhD folder into an archive.tar.gz, gpg it using the public key of a pair which I created for this process, then remove the tar.gz. then move the .gpg file into dropbox.

This would run every 30 minutes.

However, this seems rather computationally heavy and inefficient, as I’m using up 2x the space of the original folder (it doesn’t seem to compress worth a damn) during the process. I’m also not taking advantage of the fact that my folder don’t change the much so a lot of work is repeated.

My qubes machine is an x230 so not exactly endowed with an abundance of RAM or CPU.

Finally, I have to wait while dropbox then syncs the new file from scratch.