Qubes Compatibility With Graphic Tablet

Hello, everyone.

I’m interested in Qubes and I’m willimg to learn but first I need to know if this OS would support a graphic tablet: Wacom Intuos Pro L.

Thanks in advance for your time.

1 Like

If you ever get it installed and decide to use sys-usb make sure to edit /etc/qubes-rpc/policy/qubes.InputTablet

sys-usb dom0 allow,user=root
$anyvm $anyvm deny

Sorry, I’m a total noob about this.
So, does that mean I can use the tablet ? Or does that mean I could try it and see what happens?

It’s been a long time since I used a Wacom on QubesOS, but from what I remember I had some issues with the pressure sensors and extra buttons. However, I eventually figured it out. I didn’t use an Intuos Pro L though. You should try it out, but keep in mind it might take you some time to get it to work properly, specially if you never used Qubes before. You must read the Qubes documentation carefully and don’t forget not to give up easily, even you fail a couple of times, persistence prevails !

2 Likes

Other users have reported success with Wacom too, so there is that.
But it’s unlikely to work out of the box: the basics will, but there’ll
be some extra work involved. But that’s also the case in a stock distro
tbh.

Thanks, everyone.
I think is time to install the OS and then, the tablet.

1 Like

I’m also interested in that topic, however I haven’t bought it yet (but I use qubes as main OS).

Do you have any resources I should read?
Do I have to install additional drivers as explained here?
Do you have any recommended devices? (I’m not focused on specific brand but for 100% compatibility with linux and quality of device - to be usable after two years…)
Did anyone test device with connected to appVM not to dom0 if yes, what are the differences?

I’ll need it for online schooling, especially this online whiteboard and to draw some uncomplicated “material design” logos so It don’t need much.

Could you help me please? :slight_smile:

1 Like