Qubes Backup Restoration Chaos

Hello, I am fairly new to Qubes. I’ve been experimenting with the systems and customizations. I have appreciated the customization and the endless possibilities, though the documentation isn’t quite there yet when compared to Open/FreeBSD or Arch. I feel like there should be deeper use case documentation and example templates based upon threat level, as opposed to answers such as “well it depends on your threat level”. I feel like this OS is being marketed at journalists and the like, yet a lot of answers are given as if the end user should have a degree in virtualisation, networking, and infosec. This is not really a complaint, but rather a retrospection on the way the community percieves outsiders. There are exceptions to this of course like Solène and unman (forgive me if I misspelled or missed any other helpful forum members).

I apologize for the beginning rant but I feel I need to present these disclaimers out of fear that my opinions would be dismissed without prior explanation.

So, forgive me if I missed something that has already been discussed or mentioned in the forums and feel free to point out my ignorance and direct me to “RTFM” if my complaints are a result of something I missed in the documentation.

One part of Qubes I really appreciated was the built in backup and recovery software built into the system. Though once I actually used it I found it to be a nightmare.

Again, I was super excited by the simplicity of the process built in and the theory behind it. But when I made a fresh install of the OS and recovered my backup, I was left with duplicate vm’s and no clean way to remove the default Qubes without having to manually adjust names, permissions, templates, default display managers, etc. I’m sure if someone else has had to do this they would understand.