Qubes Backup Paradigm

Newbie here. Learning.

My backup paradigm is to use 3 iterative backup copies of my system captured over time. These are usually full disk copies (DOS/Windows world). Started this years back in response to disk failures and/or virus attacks. Copy C made 90 days back. Copy B made 60 days back. Copy A made 30 days back. I would rotate Copy C to the current backup roll 30 days from the last backup and repeat. I would also perform the disk backup prior to and after any major updates.

I reviewing all the backup posting/comments it do not appear there is “convent” way to accomplish this with Qubes.

Would anyone have any suggestions or thoughts on implementing this approach with Qubes?

Thanks.

1 Like

The backup tool can be run from the command line with qvm-backup, I do daily backup of the app-vms and weekly backups of everything including templates.

The command line tool can use the same profiles as the GUI tool, making it easy to schedule different groups.

The backups are time stamped, you can make a shell script that automatically deletes old backups, but I do that part manually.

1 Like

Additional Question.

Using the following from docs.:

When backing up dom0 using the Qubes backup tool (explained below), only the home directory is backed up. Therefore, if there are files outside of the home directory you wish to save, you should copy them into the home directory prior to creating a backup. Here is an example of how to back up Qubes config files and RPC policies:

$ mkdir -p ~/backup/etc/qubes/
$ cp -a /etc/qubes/* ~/backup/etc/qubes/
$ mkdir ~/backup/etc/qubes-rpc/
$ cp -a /etc/qubes-rpc/* ~/backup/etc/qubes-rpc/

Would this need to be performed for each VM that has files?

Would doing this in a template VM be bad in that it would potentially expose all the file in the template to all VM created with that template?

Thanks.

No, you don’t need to do that in appVMs, you just need to back up both the template and the appVM.