Qube Limit

preface: I’m new to both Linux and Qubes so read my post knowing I’m a lowest common denominator user currently and should be read in such context.

After learning a lot lately from being sucked into this forums topics I’m starting from scratch on my setup and doing more compartmentalizing etc. I’ve been game planning out my Qubes structure. While doing this I wanted to know how many Qubes I would have to work with. I initially thought vCPU would limit this i5-8350 (8 Threads x 4 Cores) x 1 Physical CPU = 32 vCPU. default 2 per cub would be 16 Qubes, which I immediately realized couldn’t be right as there’s more than that by default. That lead me here which answers my question that vCPUs can be created at will and over allocated. Also makes sense that you can create more Qubes than hardware resources as just because you’ve created a Qube doesn’t mean it’s using those resources until you start it up. I am a little confused on how over allocating more vcpus to (running) Qubes than you have works but I can research that outside the context of Qubes.

What I couldn’t find in the forum searching was…

1. Is there a an actual coded limit in Qubes OS for how many Qube VMs you can create in the manager? Ex. you hit 99 Qubes and it won’t let you create anymore? I was actually kind of surprised I couldn’t find someone who asked that yet.
  2. Is there any software or hardware limits for how many Qubes you can run at once? Obviously performance will keep decreasing as you start more Qubes and of course there’s a limit of what you can run on any device. I’m wondering that if you kept opening Qube VMs would the OS prompt you that no more can be opened/it wont open at all because the hardware resources aren’t available or will it just let you continue to open them until you crash your system or make it so slow it’s unusable?