Private.img not following through from templates

I have been trying to find something regarding this issue but I can not yet find anything and this is an issue that is bothering me.
I have been using Qubes for years now and I have been wondering why this was never working and I thought it was just a bug my end, but it has never resolved itself.

Issue:
When I create a template I alter it just fine for the root image. Then I add things to the rc.local script on the private image to install things in folders and perform actions.
As a developer I have one virtual per client that I do coding for, to keep everything separate.
Since i perform installation of certain applications every time I start the virtual based on what I’m doing, it isn’t working.
I then found out that the template private.img isn’t cloned over when creating a new AppVM.

Why is this not cloned over when it is a part of the template itself?
Can it be added to the clone procedure so that it can be done automatically?

It could be just a checkbox to say “Clone the private image” if that would be beneficial. But why it doesn’t clone the whole template I don’t know, is this just a bug?

It was an intentional change in R4.0, see the long discussion in #1335 for context (starting with this comment).

2 Likes

See also: Inheritance and persistence

1 Like

Well that is just stupid, it’s a TEMPLATE for a reason…
If you are not going to have the /rw/config folder copy over that does all the configurations for the template itself, that’s rhediculous…
But if it doesn’t copy over that template, then it shouldn’t have a private.img to copy over to create at all, because it doesn’t actually have a template.

So where does it actually get it’s template from for each virtual?

Why would the private.img have things that shouldn’t be in the AppVM?
It’s a TEMPLATE… TEMPLATE FOR A REASON…

that whole discusison of things is stupid too.