Pretty Good Developer Looking to Volunteer

Hey, I am a solid full-stack TypeScript developer with a diverse set of other skills. I think I would be a good fit as a UI developer on the team. Some people call me a Principal, but I’m so much more and so much less than that.

I’m interested in working on the GNOME integration. I sent an email to a few of the team members but I was missing PGP keys so they probably thought I was an NSA intern and did not respond.

I tried searching for “Qubes SDK” but came up empty handed. Since we’re transitioning to GNOME, a lot of the UI is going to improve, add some Ubuntu-esque wallpaper and styling and I think a lot of it will come together nicely. One thing that I think could be an improvement are the icons in the top right. They could look snazzy and be feature packed. If we had an SDK for Node.js, we could use Electron and make use of a menubar wrapper project like this: GitHub - maxogden/menubar: ➖ high level way to create menubar desktop applications with electron. I want Qubes to feel like macOS — macOS has all those high DPI simple icons that you can click and turn into well-polished menus. We could do the same thing with Qubes.

I really think it’s important to open the doors for development with Electron and other web-based technologies for styling widgets, etc. It will open the door for lot of other developers.

Anyway, let me know how I can be of service.

2 Likes
1 Like

Welcome to the community, and thank you for volunteering! We could certainly use your help. @ninavizz is our resident UX guru and might be able to point you in the right direction for UI work. @marmarek is the project lead and calls the shots on the overall project roadmap. Since you mentioned GNOME specifically, you might want to have a look at this issue, if you haven’t already: