NVMe over-provisioning

Hi,

I would like to over-provision my NVMe drive on which I install Qubes OS.
AFAIU it is not possible to do that by hdparm. Also the NVMe drive supports only one namespace, so that method is not usable either.

I understand that simply not filling up the drive too much does the same but I would prefer to have a “safe space” that will guarantee that, so I don’t have to take care to monitor free space all the time.

What would be the right method to over-provision the NVMe drive by 25%, for example? (ideally, during Qubes OS re-installation which I am about to do).

You can shrink your LVM assigned space by 25%, which will guarantee that no allocation will ever touch that extra space in the drive, or even do that an shrink that entire partition too, for a harder constraint.

Could you please explain how to do this? I am still new to Qubs OS and so far I have always used Automatic installation mode. When reinstalling I simply click the “Delete all” button to remove existing storage structures.

It’s really not a qubes change as much as an LVM change. You can do it from a Dom0 terminal, following this guide (or similar):How to Extend/Reduce LVM's (Logical Volume Management) in Linux - Part II. Now, there is a bit of an extra complexity due to the encryption, but it is certainly doable. Alternatively, if you don’t mind reinstalling, you can do manual allocation and not allocate the entire free space.

Re. the link you give - won’t that destroy info on the drive?

Alternatively, if you don’t mind reinstalling, you can do manual allocation and not allocate the entire free space.

I was asking for that option in my previous reply. Could you explain that as for a non-expert, please?

Thanks.