No Sound in Qubes, No Devices Listed

I am running Qubes 4.1. I have a Dell G7, standard Qubes installation. I doubt I can downgrade to 4.0 due to the processor being 10th gen, but could do that. I have no sound. No hardware is showing up in the list of outputs or inputs.

Under Audio Input in the Qubes, it says I have a microphone that I can attach. When I do attach it, I still don’t have an input listed.

My only inputs and outputs are all dummy inputs and outputs. I think I could possibly get sound in or out through HDMI.

Sound is enabled in the bios. I don’t think it’s something simple (like volume turned down).

Does anyone have any recommendations on what to do? I did see this machine had tested as working in the user list of working hardware.

If you do know what to do, if you could please explain with very simple instructions or suggestions, as I am very new to Qubes and Linux.

Hi @caressaam!

You may, or not, already have seen this small audio troubleshooting section in the documentation. Summary: in some cases, audio hardware isn’t visible because it is not supported by the kernel. Usually that happens with recent hardware, and installing a more recent version of the kernel sometimes helps. (The article explains how to do that.)

I believe that the fact you only see dummy inputs and outputs means that your hardware is not detected by dom0, and checking kernel versions is a first step. That being said, I might be wrong. If anyone knows better, please correct me!

The documentation also contains an article on audio virtualization. It explains how audio can be enabled in AppVMs, even though the audio hardware is managed by dom0. My understanding is that if your hardware is not detected by dom0, then audio virtualization is not the problem (yet), but I think it’s still useful to know those docs are there, as they explain in detail how the different pieces of audio management play together in Qubes OS.