NetworkManager not using nmconnection file

Hello,

I am fairly new to Linux so the solution is probably pretty basic, but I could not find anything concerning this anywhere.

I was trying to make my WIFI persistent inside my disposable sys-net qube by copying the nmconnection file to the /rw/config/NM-system-connections directory of my fedora-dvm template qube. For context I tried copying it 2 different ways

1. by using the qvm-copy-to-vm copy function of qubes
  2. by creating the file with nano and copying the contents

and I ran into the same Issue with both Methods. Instead of using the nmconnection file a new connection file with the schema [wifi name][random uuid].nmconnection gets created and used instead.

I tried setting the owner of the file using chown root:root and changed it’s permissions to u=rw using chmod insinde the dvm template but the same thing kept happening.

How do I get the the qube to accept configuration files I created?

I did get it working by setting my dvm template qube to hvm and connecting to the WIFI inside the dvm directly but I would rather get it to work by copying the file.

Check the difference between [wifi name].nmconnection and [wifi name][random uuid].nmconnection in your sys-net.

It now stopped working with the file that was created by the dvm and instead of adding a random uuid it adds a 1 at the end

this is the content of [wifi name].nmconnection:

[connection]
id:[wifi name]
uuid:[a uuid (different from [wifi name] 1.nmconnection])
type=wifi
interface-name=wls6

[wifi]
mode=infrastructure
ssid=[wifi name]

[wifi-security]
auth-alg=open
key-mgmt=wpa-psk
psk=[password]

[ipv4]
method=auto

[ipv6]
addr-gen-mode=default

content of [wifi name] 1.nmconnection:

[connection]
id:[wifi name] 1
uuid:[a uuid (different from [wifi name].nmconnection])
type=wifi
interface-name=wls7

[wifi]
mode=infrastructure
ssid=[wifi name]

[wifi-security]
auth-alg=open
key-mgmt=wpa-psk
psk=[password]

[ipv4]
method=auto

[ipv6]