Mullvad Setup

Hey guys, I’m a total noob to Qubes and Linux. Trying to get Mullvad up and running. Got the Config file generated but instructions say to unzip. Ran command line as stated to unzip but doesn’t locate file as a .zip. Any idea what I’m doing wrong

And thanks in advance

You can always extract the config files from a file manager, like Thunar or Nautilus. For beginners this is an easier way to navigate the file system. You may not be in the same directory as the .zip file in the terminal. Just type ls to check.

2 Likes

What command did you run?

As mentioned, you might have an easier time using a graphical file manager to unzip the file (just double click). In either case, the unzipped folder will be in the same directory as the original zip file.

My file downloaded as a .conf I believe. Per Mullvad.net I was to run: unzip “filename” but was reported as unfound…is it that the file is not in fact zipped?

@Quberto
Mullvad configuration files are packed in zip format. The zip includes a .conf file but it also includes a .crt file and a couple of other files. All of them will eventually be moved to the /etc/openvpn directory in your standalone MullvadVPN qube.

Let’s say you are accessing this forum on your Qubes machine via a browser in an appVM named personal.

1. Download a configuration zip archive from My account | Mullvad VPN

2. Go to the downloads directory and double click the downloaded zip file to unzip it. The unzipped folder will appear in the same directory. Double click on that unzipped folder to reveal the actual Mullvad configuration directory within. If you double click on that directory, you will see configuration files.

3. Right click the configuration directory (the one that contains the configuration files) and select “copy to other appVM” and choose MullvadVPN (or the name of your standalone VPN qube) as the destination VM.