Monero wallet isolation

I created an isolated wallet using this github guide but had issues as per helge’s comments in this thread and so used @qubes-kernel-5.8 's solution to fix it, Thanks guys!

Summary

followed the original guide until the step:

3. In the AppVM monero-wallet-ws :

• Edit the file /rw/config/rc.local .
user@host:~$ sudo nano /rw/config/rc.local

Add the following line to the bottom:

socat TCP-LISTEN:18081,fork,bind=127.0.0.1 EXEC:"qrexec-client-vm monerod-ws user.monerod"

But instead of above added qubes-kernel-5.8’s workaround:

• Edit the file /rw/config/rc.local
qvm-connect-tcp ::18081

Then create a TCP connect policy in dom0:

sudo nano /etc/qubes-rpc/policy/qubes.ConnectTCP
monero-wallet-ws @default allow,target=monerod-ws

However, I have been worried that the combination of the original guide and the workaround may lead to an insecure solution, as I’m new to qubes can anyone set my mind at ease?

I also checked out @adrelanos 's solution from Whonix wiki (monero_wallet_isolation) which looks very like the original guide and is probably what it’s based on and as such it would likely have the same issue with Qubes 4.1. I’m guessing probably due to some changes that must have been made to the firewall?

After reading about stream isolation in Whonix and torsocks I became concerned that the original guide I followed did not implement torsocks. Consequently I edited my previously created monerod service and added the Whonix config options, see below

[Unit]
Description=Monero Full Node
After=network.target

[Service]
User=user
Group=user
PIDFile=/home/user/.bitmonero/monerod.pid
Type=forking

KillSignal=SIGKILL

Environment=DNS_PUBLIC=tcp
Environment=TORSOCKS_ALLOW_INBOUND=1

ExecStart=torsocks monerod  --data-dir=/home/user/.bitmonero \
               --no-igd --hide-my-port --pidfile=/home/user/.bitmonero/monerod.pid \
               --log-file=/home/user/.bitmonero/bitmonero.log --p2p-bind-ip=127.0.0.1 \