Librem13 v4 - can not access ssd

Hi all,

i’m very new to Qubes but play around with it (4.2) on my librem 13 v4 and i love it so far. For me the best part is so separate all different tasks in it’s own vm. First some informations about the librem, I have a nvme with 250gb on which Qubes is installed, it also contains a ssd with 500gb which I would like to use for my pictures and videos (i’m a photographer).

unfortunately I can not access the ssd, I can see it in the device widget and also can connect it to one of my vm but can not put any data onto it.

As I am not very familiar with linux itself so I think it is something easy to solve – but unfortunately not for me.

In the end, this is what I want to archive: I want to use the ssd the same way I use an external ssd – connect it via the device widget to the vm I work on and access the data. Maybe someone has an easy guide for me how I can archive this? If this is possible as well I would like to encrypt the ssd as well but with a different passphrase as the nvme qubes is installed on.

I already checked the guides about secondary storage and block devices but non of the really helped me. Also i created a new filesystem via mkfs and a new partition via fdisk.

Thank you all!

You didn’t mention performing a critical step, and you say you’re new to Linux, so I’m going to risk telling you something you already know:

Once the device shows up on your VM (it should be listed as /dev/xvdi when you do an lsblk) you still need to mount it.

[Note: you may actually see something like /dev/xvdi and then a bunch of sub devices /dev/xvdi1, etc. If so you’ll want one of the subdevices but you’ll have to experiment to figure out which one. I have an ssd myself, and it shows up on dom0 as dom0:sda and dom0:sda1. If I attach dom0:sda I will see /dev/xvdi and /dev/xvdi1 and will want to mount /dev/xvdi1. If I instead attach dom0:sda1 I will only see /dev/xvdi.]