Kernel-latest-6.3.2-1 not stable

I was on kernel-latest for a months. Kernel 6.2.10-1 was stable.

Tried upgrade to kernel-latest-6.3.2-1 and was no stable at all. Took few hours machine turned off itself without a reason. Went back to 6.2.10-1 with Xen 4.14.5 and its stable again.

Similar.

Mine won’t boot on 6.3.2-1. It just hangs indefinitely. Had to roll back as well.

I’m seeing something where some of my VMs (ones I use to mount thumbdrives, etc.) will become totally non-responsive. You can’t open an xterm in them; they just sit there. The only real sign of their being up is that they show in qui-domains.

I just looked and my qubes are using 6.3.2-1. I just changed that in global settings, to 6.2.10-1; perhaps that will help.

I’m very new to working with kernels (besides just taking what it gives me). Do I need to rebuild the templates or anything like that? Or will the qube use the proper kernel the next time it starts up?

Do I need to rebuild the templates or anything like that? Or will the qube use the proper kernel the next time it starts up?

Xen will use the proper Qubes core kernel number that we’re referencing. The templates are oblivious to the Xen version.

The individual Qubes will also (by default) use the separate updated Linux kernel that ships with the updated Qubes. However, this can be overridden in the “Advanced” tab in the settings of each individual qube itself.

So there are really two kernels at play: The one for Xen (the hypervisor) and the one that runs contained for each Qube template.

To answer your question directly: Your templates need not be recompiled.

@SteveC
Small extra note. You probably need to select the older Qubes kernel at boot time if you haven’t uninstalled the newer one. Select the alternative kernel when the Qubes splash screen first comes up. You arrow can key/enter your way to it.

OK. Let me clarify; I’m talking about the kernel used by individual vms, not by dom0.