Is Whonix template considered trusted?

Hello,
I’m fairly new to Qubes, only using it since 4.0. Looks like a lot of documentation is outdated/incomplete, so I figured I’d ask here about it:

Are the Whonix templates bundled with the default Qubes Iso considered to be trusted? I’d say obviously yes, since they are included with the ISO :slight_smile: however docs ( http://qubesosfasa4zl44o4tws22di6kepyzfeqv3tg4e3ztknltfxqrymdad.onion/doc/templates/ Templates | Qubes OS ) say:

Whonix is listed as one of the community templates. Should I consider it trusted (as trusted as Qubes and its official templates anyway)?

1 Like

Hi @billystonka,

Let me start answering your question with another question: trusted by whom and trusted for what purpose?

Trust is an individual matter, it depends on your circumstances and goals. I certainly know and trust people that you neither know or trust. You probably know someone you’d trust to keep your lunch for you until noon, but not your unlocked phone. Does this make sense?

As you correctly quote from the documentation, the community templates are maintained by community members, and the Qubes OS team doesn’t test them. That means that you can trust those templates if you trust the community members that maintain them. No-one can make that decision for you, and the fact that you trust the Qubes OS team doesn’t make it safe to assume that you trust “these other people”.

So why are those templates in the Qubes OS ISO in the first place?

Some community templates are made available to you in the Qubes OS ISO for convenience, but they are not installed by default. You must decide if you trust them before installing and using them.