IP correlation Attack and others

Hello, noob here. Perhaps this is more Operational security issue type question but. I have a few scenarios where you can probably be tracked?

Scenario 1- IP Correlation
You visit a website through standard internet(not Whonix/tor). You visit that same website again through Whonix/tor and now a single IP address is linked to the website and to tor and thus it can all be correlated to your originating IP address

Scenario 2 - browser fingerprints correlation
Now how about you visit a website on clear net, now do same above, visit same website using tor/whonix, now there is a correlation that the originating clearnet IP and Unique fingerprints has an association to a a whonix/tor

Am I not understanding…? Missing something

Why would you visit the same site using tor then immediately after using clearnet? Maybe if you search for a default string like testtest123 to check your internet in both, this could be a problem. But even if you did, someone would have to be monitoring the site (and search engines have oodles of searches a second) and also guessing that this will happen to bother linking the two.

Just keep your tor and clearnet use in separate qubes. Using TorBrowser for tor and Firefox or Chromium for clearnet (in separate qubes e.g. personal and anon-whonix) would take care of both scenarios. Just be careful to only search for certain things via tor and certain things via clearnet. If you actually log into a site over tor and then over clearnet, of course they will know you are both of these ip addresses.

2 Likes

Thanks I understand, I commonly browse news sites using clearnet, and tor but I guess I have to be careful. No logging of personal information through tor, that’s obvious OPsec.