Installing ledger live and getting USB drive to work

I am a newbie with some unix/linux experience. I have read everything I can in qubes substack about configuring USB drive and I reinstalled Qubes twice (had a usb connected keyboard first time). I now have Service:sys-usb installed but when I click on Data Devices it still shows my usb thumbdrive as a flash disk() instead of under USB. So I am not sure if that is working correctly.
Secondly, I can’t get my ledger live to install/work correctly and find my ledger and am not sure if it is because my usb is not setup correctly.
When I start LedgerLive I get the following error:
libva error:vaGetDriverNameByIndex( failed with unknow libva error, driver_name = (null)
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
THanks,
David

About to head down this same path with Ledger Live and NanoX Plus. Any help appreciated.

Good luck. I’m on install 4 and still can’t get it to work. If you do please let me know.

When I plug in my ledger and then use the command “lsusb” it does show my ledger but the ledger live app won’t recognize it.

Try this:

1. Make a clone of the debian-11-minimal template.

2. Install these packages in the new template:

qubes-core-agent-networking
    qubes-usb-proxy
    openssl
    fuse
    libnss3
    libasound2
    libatk1.0-0
    libatk-bridge2.0-0
    libgtk-3-0

3. Create a qube based on this template.

4. Download the Ledger Live AppImage from the official site.

5. Authenticate the AppImage according to Ledger’s instructions. The commands should look something like this:

openssl dgst -sha256 -verify openssl-public-key.pem -signature ledger-live-desktop-<VERSION>.sha512sum.sig ledger-live-desktop-<VERSION>.sha512sum

sha512sum -c ledger-live-desktop-<VERSION>.sha512sum

6. Make the AppImage executable:

chmod +x ledger-live-desktop-<VERSION>-linux-x86_64.AppImage

7. Start the AppImage.

8. Start your sys-usb.

9. Physically plug your Ledger into a USB port.