Install Qubes on a USB key for testing on a laptop

Hello Qubes Community !

When I first found out about Qubes - some time ago - I went through the all website. Coming back to my memories of that day I thought I had seen somewhere explanations about installing Qubes on a USB key to be able to test it on a computer without having to install it.

This evening I finally decided to move on and test my laptop.
According to the hardware requirements, I believe that my laptop is fit for Qubes (ASUSPRO B9440FA). Hopefully I am right …
However before installing Qubes directly on the laptop I rather test the compatibility using a Qubes installation done on a USB Key.

Unfortunately, it seems this article I had seen disappeared.
Hence my questions (be comprehensive I am not an expert although quite familiar with computer) :

• Did I “dream” when I first went through Qubes website and found out about this article and possibility ?

• Is it still possible ?

If yes :

• Is it still an acceptable way to test a computer with Qubes without installing Qubes on the computer ?

• Is it possible to install Qubes on USB key from Windows (by mean of Rufus?) ?

• Is there a place where I can find an explanation on how to proceed ?

• Are there any risks for the OS already installed (Windows) on my laptop using such method (I mean that whether running Qubes from the USB key is successful or not, is it possible for Windows to end up corrupted and not working when I go back to normal use) ?

• Likewise are there any risks for the hardware of the laptop (configuration settings, usb ports, etc. that could be modified and thus alter the launch and normal execution of Windows) using such method ?

If you have any other thoughts about this that you think I should be aware of, feel free to let me know.

Thank you
David

1 Like
  1. Yeah, as far as I know, as long as your USB (or any external disk) is greater than 25~32 GB, it would be able to let you install the base system.