Initial Setup Help Request - ASUS ROG Strix Scar 16 (G634JZ-XS96)

Noting up front that while I’m relatively tech-savvy, I have no experience with Linux whatsoever. I understand that in the world of Linux, the Qubes learning curve is particularly steep – nonetheless, I’d like to be able to start here.

I’m trying to get Qubes running on my new laptop. My specs are as follows. I believe my hardware is compatible, but if I’ve overlooked something, please let me know.

Processor: 13th Gen Intel® Core™ i9-13980HX
Graphics: NVIDIA® GeForce RTX™ 4080 Laptop GPU
Display: ROG Nebula HDR Display
Memory: 16GB DDR5-4800 SO-DIMM x 2
Storage: 1TB PCIe® 4.0 NVMe™ M.2 Performance SSD
Network Adapter: Intel® Wi-Fi 6E AX210

So far the process has gone like this:

1. Initially the SDD was undiscoverable by any bootable usb I was creating. I disabled the VMD controller in BIOS to solve this.

2. On first attempt, Qubes installation froze at network setup. I tried again with an ethernet cable connected which seemed to solve the issue.
    Note: The Qubes installer had rather severe graphical lag – I was getting about 1/5 FPS.

3. I tried booting into Qubes after installation and arrived at a black screen (sometimes with an immovable mouse pointer, sometimes without). Having noted that this might be an Nvidia issue, I tried booting into failsafe (which to my understanding simply involves choosing “Advanced options for Qubes (with Xen hypervisor)” after Bios spash screen – please correct me if that’s wrong). This changed nothing. I also tried adding a handful of commands (one at a time, though these felt like a shot in the dark as they were recommendations made for different hardware) to the end of the grub line beginning with “multiboot2” as per some threads I found online to no avail.