How to safe install .deksktop file (Zoterro) in qubes OS

Hi, I am kind of new to linux and qubes os and want to install Zoterro for managing my papers. Unluckily the only way (I know) is to download it from there offical website ( Zotero | Downloads), then unpack it.
In the unpacked file there is only a .dektop file, which I can execute and then install it via the Zoterro gui.
I know that I need a new/copied template of my main fedora-39-xfe, because the website is not a trusted source. But after installing it via the .desktop file, Zoterro does not appear in my application list, what did I do wrong?

If you’ve followed the official guide and created zotero.desktop symlink in the user directory in the template like this:

• Symlink zotero.desktop into ~/.local/share/applications/ (e.g., ln -s /opt/zotero/zotero.desktop ~/.local/share/applications/zotero.desktop)

Then it’s expected because the template user directory is not used in the app qubes based on this template:

Whenever an app qube is created, the contents of the /home directory of its parent template are not copied to the child app qube’s /home. The child app qube’s /home is always independent from its parent template’s /home, which means that any subsequent changes to the parent template’s /home will not affect the child app qube’s /home.

sudo ln -s /opt/zotero/zotero.desktop /usr/share/applications/zotero.desktop

So create the symlink in the /usr/share/applications/ directory in template instead:

Hi thanks, I did not know that the offical tarball guide also works for fedora-39-xfe, thank you.
I downloaded the file, extracted it, moved it into /opt/zotero folder, went to the folder via terminal via cd, then I wanted to run the ./set_launcher_icon script, but nothing happens, I checked via ls /opt/zotero if the .desktop file is in this place and it is, also I runned:
ls -ld /opt/zotero

drwxr-xr-x. 12 user user 4096 Jul 22 15:22 /opt/zotero