[Help needed] Installing Qubes--unknown error has occurred

Hi, I’m new to Qubes and have been trying to install it onto my Thinkpad X-230 laptop without success.

Halfway through installation (after clicking “Being installation”) I receive the following error:
“An unknown error has occurred”

I’ve been closely reading the installation guide and the troubleshooting notes read:
“Some people have encountered this error message when trying to install Qubes on drives that already have data on them. The solution is to exit the installer, wipe all data or delete all partitions, then restart the Qubes installation.”

So I loaded a live Fedora OS and wiped the SSD, erasing all partitions. I attempted to format the drive and go through the installation but to no avail, and tried again without having any partitions created before trying to install but still receiving the same message.

I made sure to check that both virtualisation options were enabled in my BIOS.

My install USB is 16GB and each time I’ve ran the Qubes installation I re-flashed the USB with Qubes R4.0.4. I’ve also redownloaded the iso 4 times with the same message appearing from above.

I scanned my USB for any bad blocks but it appears to be completely fine (when using AOMEI Partition Assistant on Win10).

When I used BalenaEtcher to flash my USB, it responded that the flash of Qubes had failed (presumably it had failed the checksum), but it would still allow me to use the install program until it would fail with the message shown above. Using Rufus (& selecting DD image) suggested the flash was a success but I would see the same results of the “unknown error has occurred” halfway through the install process.